Archive for July 17th, 2009

17
Jul
09

Very restless. Also very unproductive. And very aimless. I think I actually went on Facebook 7 or 8 times, for like 6 seconds. More or less.

Well there’s that old saying: When in distress, make brownies.
I also make stuff up when I’m distressed.

But not distressed enough to not try a new recipe:

Deep Dish Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a pan.
  2. In a large bowl, blend melted butter, sugar and vanilla. Beat in eggs one at a time. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Gradually blend into the egg mixture. Spread the batter into the prepared pan.

    Obviously ignoring the deep-dishery of it.

    Obviously ignoring the deep-dishery of it.

  3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until brownies begin to pull away from the sides of the pan. Let brownies cool, then cut into squares.
Nice thin sheets of brownies.

Nice thin sheets of brownies.

Results: I think this is the first time I’ve baked something that didn’t end up being too sweet.  In fact it’s hardly sweet at all.  It smelled great from the oven but I can’t tolerate brownies tasting like Brownies Zero.  Either this recipe is a bust or I don’t have the capability to bake when I’m feeling agitated.




July 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Entries